【IELTS2】Suggest measures that could be taken to reduce impact of ageing populations.

In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

It is true that the average of age has been increasing in many developed countries. Although this trend would negatively affect our society, there are some solutions to solve the problems which we can predict.

The first problems we can anticipate is that healthcare demands will increase by rising the number of the elderly. This trend makes young people's burden higher when it comes to tax. What is more, workforce will decrease so that companies will face with short of the employees due to the ageing society

The second problem which is expected is that young people will be required to take care of elderly relatives. This might lead to difficulties for their off-springs to accomplish the balance between work and looking after the old relatives.

Meanwhile, there are a number of solutions which address these dilemmas. First, the advance in medical care enables the senior citizens to avoid having diseases. In fact, owing to the development in technology, there are many precautions to prevent from diseases such as vaccine. Secondly, workforce will increase by rising retirement of age, which leads to lower the tax burden on employees and tackle workforce shortage. Finally, to solve the problems that people would have to take care of their old relatives, government should provide ample facilities of healthcare and nursing care. This discourages working people to retire their job because of obligation for taking care of their old relatives.

To recapitulate, various measures can be implemented to tackle these problems caused by ageing society.