Suggestion for adolescents to take a job for a gap year between school and third-level education

Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university. Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this.

Every person needs a job to be well-rounded. Whilst some people render a suggestion for adolescents to take a job for a gap year between school and third-level education since this makes them to gain easy access to be accepted in reputable prestigious universities, others believe it is unacceptable since this may interupt their social lives.

Apparently, joining with company after people aged 13-18 in their a gap year between school and university gives them greatly benefit related to ample opportunities to be accepted in high-standard university. BBC News reported in January 2015 that 70% of young people who easily earned LOA ( Letter of Acceptance) from Oxford University have had a working experience. The university is very selective in student recruitment and it prefers students having working experience since they are more likely to be well-informed in comparison with those who do not work. As a result,experienced young people are bound to have an immense chance to be accepted in top-ranked university.

However, working in that period comes to an abrupt withdrawal of social life relationship. There seems a busy day with heavy workload. A 2013 recent Harvard University study conducts that 90 % of people working after graduated from their school in Beijing, China had felt a sense of alienation among their peers since they have to spend their time working in a 40-hour timetable per week. This resulted in poor social relationships.

The aforementioned evidence shows that the idea of pople in their leisure time after graduating from their school is the most valued. However, a dire consequence should be taken into account because this affects emotional development. It is imperative that they should manage a balance life.