Summary of article Blind people use brain's visual cortex to help do maths ( Colin Barras)

Have you ever wondered about the brain mechanism while solving mathematics problem ? Base on a leading theory, understanding number should links the visual experience because of strong between them. If it is so, how about the people who have been blind from birth ?. According to Shipra Kanjlia, Student of Johns Hopkins University, blind man can also do math. In order to examine it, she and her peers analysed 36 volunteers which is 17 of whom have been blind at birth. They observed the sample by conducting simple mental arithmatic orservation inside fMRI scanner. The results show that Blind man's Intraparietal sulcus (IPS),the region of brain, has also being activated. Hence, we have innate ability to compute number without visual experience is requeired. Further more, they also found out an extra area of the brain which is related to work on mental arithmetic problems particularly cortex. According to their experiment, the region from All of the blind volumteers who gave the correct answer was visual cortex. Thus, they suggested the extra region (Cortex) is also trigered by caculation process.