An Article Summary: Your Boobs Start to Eat Themselves after Breastfeeding is Over By: Linda Geddes

Women's breasts consist of a network of tube, wrapped by a layer of fatty tissue. Throughout the pregnancy, hormonal signals cause epithelial cells lining the ducts to proliferate and form ball-like structures namely alveoli, where milk is produced when the baby is born. However, once women stop breastfeeding, these structures perform a self-destructing process that involves immense cellular suicide and the elimination of the debris.

"One of the least understood aspects of this process is how the excess milk and large numbers of dead cells are removed from the mammary gland without substantial activation of the immune system," said a cancer biologist at the University of Sydney in Australia, named Matthew Naylor.

After lactation, the epithelial cells tend to eat their dead neighbors. Since a protein called Rac1 is vital for normal milk-making, as well as phagocytosis in immune cells, it might also be engaged in this breast remodeling. To examine, Nasreen Akhtar at the University of Sheffield and her partners conducted an experiment on female mice whose Rac1 gene was removed. This revealed that without Rac1, chronic inflammations were activated as well as swelling. Hence, although extended breastfeeding reduces overall cancer risk, women still have the threat of developing aggressive breast cancer for the first 5 to 10 years following pregnancy due to the inflammation during breast remodeling.