An Article Summary: Climate Change Could Destroy Wild Relatives of Cereals By 2070

A future study led by John Wiens, from the University of Arizona in the US, has been examining the capability of grasses including wild relatives of staple foods such as wheat and rice which provide half of all the calories burnt up by humans, to survive from the impact of global warming, especially rapid climate change. The researchers then initiate a 2070-prediction called 'troubling implications' since they have not able to make certain statement regarding the future of world food supplies.

In point of fact, 236 grass species are able to adapt to new climatic niches, the restricted areas where they can continue to exist, thus moving them to more appropriate weather condition might be helpful. However, this option becomes improper due to the estimation that the predicted rate of climate change will be 5,000 times faster than the estimated speed at which grasses could adapt to new niches. Furthermore, limited seed dispersal due to human settlements or mountains will be other obstacles to be faced. As conclusion, John Wiens emphasizes "This has several troubling implications, for both global biodiversity and human welfare."