Summary: Why education, not punishment, is the solution to reducing crime | John Lonergan

In the last few decades, the improvement of prison became a center of attention. This is because people have realized that prisoners are not a different species of human being; they are us. John Lonergan is a very active man who participates in a lot of voluntary and charity work and he has even written a book. Lonergan believes that punishment was not the best solution to make criminals to be better. Building trust from them is the starting point that must be developed. To gain the trust of criminals is a difficult and time consuming undertaking but without trust there will be little progress. If people really want to help and support them, we will have to listen to what prisoners need. In addition to, education for criminals is the most essential factor for their future. For example, more than 30% of criminals cannot continue their career because they have no knowledge and skills needed when they are free from prison. Thus, before being free, prisoners must have provision to achieve their goal.