Ted Summary - Hans Rosling - Debunking third world myths with the best stats you have ever seen

Hans Rosling introduced the effective way on how statistics can be implemented to solve the world dilemma. He mentioned that most of the world problems are lack of evidences, which need to be solve using a proper statistic. Furthermore, he said that one of the problem that the world now faced is about life expectancy. The myth of life expectancy of western country is growing can only be shown by comparing the data between them and other countries, for instance, Asia countries. The result showed that western countries steadily increased their life expectancy from 1960 to 2003, while Asian countries caught up behind them.

The other topic that he covered was the myth of distribution of income among all the countries, which grouped into Africa, South Asia, East Asia and OECD or rich countries. The statistic consisted of 3 X-axis, which were 1 dollar/day, 10 dollar/day and 100 dollar/day. It revealed that from 1980 to 2003, there was improvement in distribution of income from 1 dollar/day to 10 dollar/day, which dominated by South and East Asia. Therefore, this proved that almost 60% of the countries were classified into middle income, while OECD and poor countries are equally distributed about 20%.

At the end of his presentation, he hoped that all the data that are still uncovered and inter-connected together with known data, such as, UN and NGO data, can be merged into a single system in which people can access and update