Summary : Jack Ma can't solve Indonesia's e commerce dilemma

A few days ago, there was news that Alibaba Chairman Jack Ma had accepted an advisory committee of Indonesian e-commerce, a committee involving ten ministries in the country. Indonesian government has asked Jack Ma to give recommendations on how to strengthen local business and help them to access markets such as in China.

Whatever the outcome, e-commerce committee of Indonesians who have to make their own rules to regulate the digital economy of the country. But with ten ministerial involvement in this committee, of course the process will not take place smoothly. On the other hand, communication between the government and industry groups in the manufacturing of the regulator is not running easily.

Regulators face a variety of conflicts of interest. For example, the company led by Aulia-Blanja is a joint venture between BUMN Telkom and Ebay are derived from the US. Meanwhile, Alibaba has also entered Indonesia through its stake in Lazada. Not to be outdone, Amazon is also eyeing the region.

However, Indonesian consumers seem not so concerned about where the origin of a product or service. The important thing is to be in accordance with the standards and expectations. Thus, regulators are faced with a major dilemma. On the one hand, they want to help local companies grown-particularly UKM. But the reality, it is subject to the regulation of the lobbying power of large companies.