A summary : Why ordinary people need to understand power

This is a resume of a talk giving by Eric Liu. Its original title is "Why ordinary people need to understand power". You can find his video in ted.com

According to Eric's talk, most people in the world and particularly in America these days are illiterate of civics. They think power is a terrible term that is had by a big company or government. In fact, they have attempted to ignore the civic power and politic issue. As a consequent, American people have limited knowledge of civics, civic engagement, participation and awareness. Eric believes that all of citizens have to confront this problem by being aware that civics is a teaching of power. Why is it so important? It is because I the past civics had been profound inequality. Therefore, civics is also important to make people wake up from their ignorance today.

Indeed, power is belonging to local people wherever they are. They can do positive action because of their power. For instance, general people in China have established an organisation to fight official corruption there and it has inspired activist around the world. Hence, people over the seas need to share their power and teach each other about civics in order to rebuild ordinary power worldwide.