Surest indicator of great nation is wellfare of people: Claim n Reason

Question:

Claim: The surest indicator of great nation is not the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: The surest indicator of a great nation is actually the welfare of all its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim states that the indication of a great nation is not about achievements of its rulers,artists,or scientists, and the reason supports the claim indicating the welfare of its people. A great nation needs to provide all its people with the basic facilities. And these facilities should be for the welfare of its people. The claim and the reason are interrelated and the reason show the way to achieve the claim. A nation is said to be great if the achievements made by the rulers, artists, scientists are made for the welfare of the people.

A nation should think of the welfare of its common people, as they are the working people who keeps the nation moving. For instance, the every day common man is working either in a factory or a plant that gives the people electricity or some other kind of facility or necessary product. This common man is the back bone of a nation. If he/she stops working there will be shortage of many facilities which will hinder the normal process. The welfare of this common man will strengthen the back bone of the nation. The extent to which the nation can provide facilities to the common man shows the greatness of the nation.

On the other hand, the achievements made by the rulers, artists and scientists are on the individual basis. For example, the power gained by a ruler provides facilities for him/her or their family. It does not provide any support for others. If the ruler uses this power for the benefit of the common people then there will be an over all improvement in the facilities. If the scientists develop a new advanced technology that is of no use in improvement of the facilities for the common people then its not so great. Where as if it provides solution to the problems of the common people, the common people will have benefits which in turn benefits the nation.

The claim, therefore, states the right way that a nation should not see the achievements of its rulers, artists, scientists, it does not show any greatness of the nation. The reason shows the right way by which the nation might be great i.e. by the welfare of its people. Thus, this gives a clearer idea about the claim and the reason.

Please review the above essay.

I'd be glad if you give it a rating on a 6 grade scale.