IELTS Task 2 - surveillance technologies provide individual tracking information

Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Since early 21 century surveillance technologies such as tracking devices and security cameras have developed. Governments in this case aim to increase national security by using such technologies that help them monitoring ordinary people's activities although inhabitants' privacy should be disturbed because they are do not realized those undercover observation. However, I argue that the crime prevention technology can protect citizens from robberies and terrorism.

Closed-circuit television installation has become new security standard. As its size that is almost unaware CCTV is more effective than positioned some bodyguards. In the Great Britain widely uses of CCTV sake Metropolitan Police to solve and find out more than 100 robbers in 2011. In addition, this technology has decreased 30 percent crime rate in U.S.A for latest 5 years. Despite this, it is considered as expensive technologies so that those security cameras have not applied commonly in some developing countries in Africa and Asia.

Another device of surveillance technology is cell phone tracking that has used to prevent a country from terrorism. Almost no one can lose from such a tracking since mobile phone has become primary tool to have a communication around the world,. American Central Intelligence Agency has operated this technology to observe the number of suspicious activities that suspect as terrorism planning. Every phone's provider also has stored such specific data of each user in order to help governments spy on terrorism possibility that may be organized by their residents. Although those parties will keep every tracking fact, this protocol should interrupt humans' right for having freedom and private communication.

In conclusion, individual tracking information will not be exposed to public and it just keep in the secrecy storage while such important data may support to enhance national safety. For such reasons I do believe that the advantages of surveillance technology use overshadow its disadvantages.