Sustainable development, urbanization in the cities

disadvantages of rapid urbanisation

These days, people from urban areas come to the city to look for a better life. However, the drawbacks of urbanisation is a major problem in many cities. Explain some of the problems caused by urbanisation. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

Urbanisation, which is a deep-seated problem in our society these days, is thought to be detrimental to the majority of the population. It lowers life quality in urban areas and raises crime rate. The essay below attempts to elaborate on the drawbacks of urbanisation and proposes some resolutions to it.

Cities are highly vulnerable under the effect of urbanisation. More than often, this phenomena creates overcrowding and lack of sanitation, leading to diseases outbreak. At the same time, urbanisation potentially triggers the shortage in utilities in utilities, such as water, electricity and sewage disposal. Another down side of this problem is the constantly rising crime rates. Unfortunately, a high proportion of immigrants into urban areas are forced to reside in slums, which are not owned by them. Meanwhile, slums are widely regarded as the breeding ground for criminal activities. Maintenance of law and order, therefore, becomes more difficult.

To achieve the goal of sustainable development, the government needs to put the crisis of urbanisation on its agenda and come up with practical resolutions. To combat the lack of utilities, those with higher power should create more private and public partnerships and provide waste; water and housing disposal for residents. At the same time, they should also enforce the widespread of education so that it can reach even slum residents. With proper training and housing development, both life quality and order maintenance shall be heightened.

In conclusion, urbanisation is definitely not something for society to overlook, and it generally takes elaborative steps to approach its disadvantages.