Suzanne Simard: How trees talk to each other (TED Summary)

Some people consider that forest is plants-covered area. Forest is not only about trees, but there is a intimated network system that connected each other. That statement is appropriate with research discovery by scientist while it present about Pine root could transfer carbon to another Pine root. Suzanne Simard, well-known as forestry researcher, challenged to manifest that theory. She shared her story when she was in Canada to complete her study. She figured that roots and soil are not the main building from the forest. She discovered it with less costly equipment because the sponsors thought that she was mentally ill. Objects in her study were Paper birch, douglas fir, and cedar tree. She found that there were two-way communication with Paper birch and douglas fir, on the other hand, Cedar had their own world so they had not a linkage each other. More specific, she discovered that there were two-way conversation between trees that was not only as competitors but as cooperative partners such as shared carbon, nitrogen, and chemical compound. As an conclusion, she explained about correlation between clear-cutting forest, trees network and climate change, in the end of her speech, she offered her four thought to be friend with climate change.