IELTS WRITING TAK 2: Replace parks and gardens instead of apartment buildings. Discuss both views.

Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with buildings apartments for commuters, but others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views about whether authorities should dismantle parks and gardens by apartment buildings. While in some way, it might seem reasonable to maintain those in downtown. I personally believe that those places are essential for inhabitants.

There are several reasons why people might argue that governments should construct more apartment buildings. Firstly, parks and gardens occupy a lot of areas which leads to some people living far from the city center will spend more time traveling to work. For example, people living in extramural areas will have a longer distance to go to work than those living in the city center. Secondly, it might be supposed that those places may be useless because of not being association with economic development.

However, I would agree with those who believe that the government should not construct apartment buildings instead of parks and gardens. The main benefit of those places is that they increase air quality, which contributes to maintaining good mental health for citizens. This is particularly the case for those who go to parks or gardens on a regular basis, and they will find a sense of relaxation because they can be close to nature and relieve stress. Besides, trees in gardens and parks also facilitate an increase in the fresh air in the atmosphere.

In conclusion, while there may be benefits to constructing more apartment buildings for commuters. However, I believe that keeping parks and gardens in the city center will have more advantages to outweigh the disadvantages in the long-term.