Ielts writing - Take a gap year between high school and university.

Question: Some students take a year off between school and university to work and travel. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

new experiences outside the school

Recently, the society has been seen an increasingly popular trend that young people spend a gap year between high school and university on practical activities such as seeking a job or travelling. Although this trend may bring some drawbacks, I would argue that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks.

Putting much attention to travelling or working in a gap years, some adolescents may face difficulties when returning to the way of university. They may be diminished their knowledge that they accumulated from high school. Therefore, they will have to study harder to pass the entrance examinations of university. Besides, some youngsters abandon the pursuit of academic path since they find new passion in working or travelling, which may not guarantee for their future due to momentary passion of youngsters. For example, my nephew, who travelled oversea after finishing high schools, decided to become a tourist guide although I know that she is good at science.

Despite the disadvantages mentioned above, I still believe that adolescents should take a gap year to travel or work because of some reasons. Firstly, this can help them cultivate practical skills which are not only important for studying in universities but also useful for later life. For example, engaging in volunteer work, young people will be more mature to face the challenge on the way to college. Secondly, young people can use this year to find information about the majors of university that they intend to enroll. By participating in the presentation of university or engaging in life student, they may have more apparent view about the conditions of the university which they will choose. Finally, working in one year might help young people share financial burden of the cost in university.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that taking a year off between school and university has some negative aspects. It seems to me that the benefits of a gap year are more significant for the reasons mentioned.