SAT essay: 'Taking a bad decision is way better than the terror of indecision'

TOPIC: is taking a bad decision better than taking no decision at all ?

The definition of making no decision is defined by most of people as being apathy and disinterest person. In other words, a real decision is measured by the fact that you've taken a new action. If there's no action, you haven't truly decided. In my opinion,the risk of a wrong decision is preferable to the terror of indecision. Throughout society and in life, the evidence to prove my viewpoint is persuasive.

Rosa Parks risked punishment and jail because she refused to give up her seat on the bus. She felt it was the right thing to do; She was simply tired of segregation. When the bus driver ordered a row of blacks to give up their seats, Rosa was the only one who didn't obey; she was the only one who took a decision, unlike that of the others. She wanted to voice her opinion that segregation was unjust and should be outlawed. She was successful through her non-violent protests. Despite her arrest, Rosa made people aware to fight for equal rights and end segregation. The United States Congress called Rosa Parks "the first lady of civil rights" and "the mother of the freedom movement".

The united thirteen colonies took a decision when they broke from the British Empire and formed an independent nation, the United States of America. This was called the American revolution which occurred in 1775. While no one even can be pointed to as the actual cause of the revolution, the revolution began as a disagreement on the way in which the British treated the colonies versus the way they felt they should be treated. The colonies took a decision to break from the British Empire and thought it's time to end this treatment. The British, on the other hand, felt that the colonies were made to best suit the crown and parliament.

In the novel 1984 Winston Smith risked torturing and getting sent to jail when he took a decision to stop the ruling party in london. Winston Smith was a low ranking member of the ruling Party in London, he was frustrated by the oppression and rigid control of the party which prohibits free thought,sex and any expression of individuality. He illegally purchased a diary in which to write his criminal thoughts. He has also become fixated on a powerful party member named O'Brien, whom Winston believes is a secret member of the Brotherhood-the mysterious, legendary group that works to overthrow the Party. Despite what Winston tried to do to stop the Party, he got seized and brainwashed and sent to the room 101, the final destination to anyone who opposes the party. But Winston rather than staying apathy, he took the decision to stop the Party from their ruling.

Clearly the examples above show that taking a bad decision is way better than the terror of indecision. If the colonies weren't to take the bad decision of facing death when they broke from the British Empire to stop the rulers from their bad treatment, the United States of America wouldn't have existed. If Rosa wouldn't have stood up to the segregation, the black people would have been facing racism uptill now.In brief, the risk of taking a bad decision is better than taking no decision at all.