Taking courses of more than one subject prepare students for a broad spectrum of careers

Should universities require students to learn many subjects?

Whether universities should require students to take courses of varied subjects or to specialize in one subject has long been a heated discussion. As a college student, I have strong reasons to advocate the first policy.

For one thing, this policy benefits students in finding a job. As for the fierce competition of job market, finding a job becomes a severe problem. A person equipped with a wide range of knowledge will have more opportunities than those who specialized in one field. A friend of mine majors in finance in the university, however, he finds interest in French and he chooses it as his second major. He will graduate this year, which poses a tremendous strike on his major due to the world-wide recession. However, he is lucky enough to get a position in a French company. It is his wide knowledge that helped him. Taking courses of more than one subject enables students to be well prepared for a broad spectrum of careers, which may be very helpful for a student to acquire a job.

What is more, courses of different subjects help each other. For a college student,a wide range of knowledge facilitates the study of each subjects because the knowledge of one subject often overlaps that of another subject . Sometimes, knowledge and skill learned from one course can serve as a useful tool for another subject. For example, English is a widely-accepted tool for the study of almost all the other subjects in non-English speaking countries. Meanwhile, English is a subject on its own.

Although someone may cast doubts on my statement, citing the reason that one can not deal with so many courses of several subjects at the same time. They argue that a student who has to learn too many courses can not learn each of them well enough. I do not agree with this point. The purpose of college education is not to make every student a specialist on one subject, in contrast, this experience builds a foundation for each student to be an expert in more than one fields.

In conclusion, as what I have discussed above, universities should be responsible to provide students with courses of a broad spectrum of subjects. Meanwhile, college students should take efforts to obtain as much knowledge as possible in varied subjects.