[IELTS TAKS 2] CAMBRIDGE 12 TEST 5 - INFORMATION SHARING

Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe some information is too important or valuable to be showed freely.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

I am preparing for the next IELTS so please give me the band score I may reach. Thank you

access to important information for everyone

People have different views about how information is shared. Although there are good arguments in favor of keeping secret intelligence, I personally believe that valuable knowledge has to be both available and accessible.

On the one hand, sharing information makes a better world. Firstly, developed countries like America and England certainly have handful experiences in dealing with economic instabilities such as economic crisis and inflation. By transmitting such intelligence, they can help less civilized nations stabilize their economic state and save money from making avoidable mistakes. In addition, collaboration between countries in terms of exchanging advancement in certain fields would benefit the whole world. For example, Cuba's breakthroughs in curing lung cancer now opens a new door to not only American cancers' patients but also bring more hope to people who are suffering from that disease globally. Finally, from academic perspective, exchanging information in terms of seminars may help improve knowledge gap across continents as well as promoting learning. An academic workshop, which takes place in developing countries like Cambodia, presented by a famous scholar in biological science will nurture interests in science among students which turn into some fascinating discoveries and invention.

On the other hand, secret intelligence has to be secured due to its importance. Coca-cola formula, for instance, is a national treasure of the US, thus disclosure of this global product should not be encouraged. Moreover, military secrets and technologies are too vital to the survival of a particular nation that they must be classified. Intelligence leaks may be used to harm political opponents which eventually threaten lives of millions of civilians.

In conclusion, while some information should be kept secretly, the majority of them have to be shared to vastly benefit the entire whole in many different aspects.