Talent vs hard wordk - IELTS 2

It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sportsperson or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is thought that while some individuals have the natural capability in some fields including sports and music, other people do not. Additionally, it is believed by some that those talents could be taught to all young children. Both viewpoints are reasonable, but I strongly lean toward the former.

On the one hand, it is understandable why some people think that children can learn to be professional sportspeople or virtuosos. Firstly, young children have sensitive minds. This means they could adapt to what they learn quickly and could be trained to be proficient in that field. In addition, a passion for sports or music could appear when they grow up. When someone is keen on something, they might pursue it by all their efforts. Therefore, a lot of children try to achieve their favorites and be successful.

On the other hand, I am convinced that good skills in sport or music are gifted. Firstly, some children inherit good capacity in sport and music from their parents. This is because the effect of family genetics is quite high, not only in appearance but also in skills. Secondly, many famous sportspeople and virtuosos shared that they could play sports or instrument devices or sing well when they were young. Take Phuong My Chi as an example, she has been famous from a very young age for her beautiful voice and her talents in music which has made her become a singer being admired by people in every region. As a result, most people have beliefs in innate genius humans.

In conclusion, while good skills in music or sports could be taught to any child, talents are exhibited when people are born, I strongly believe that it exhibits when they are born.