Talented people are better off working overseas IELTS writing task 2

More and more qualified people are moving from poor to rich countries to fill vacancies in specialist areas like engineering, computing and medicine.

Some people believe that by encouraging the movement of such people, rich countries are stealing from poor countries. Others feel that this is only part of the natural movement of workers around the world.

Do you agree or disagree?

skilled workers going abroad

Nowadays, competent individuals from the developing world prefer to work overseas due to the fact that it is simpler and more lucrative to work in the developed world. One community thinks that the developing world is losing capable individuals because of the developed world; Another community asserts that this is life, and it is just how the world works. I strongly support the latter community and will discuss the reasons behind this support.

First of all, while it is true that the developing countries are losing useful individuals to the developed countries, it is also true that these talented individuals will no longer be taken for granted, which is crucial to the world as a whole. If these people contribute to the society, they will be rewarded accordingly. This is, however, most likely not the case if they worked in growing countries. For example, Mary - one of my colleagues - went through many ups and downs throughout her career in her country, but at the end she received the same rewards as those put less efforts into their works, which was extremely demotivating as she felt being treated unfairly.

Apart from the poor treatment of capable identities, these countries tend to value intelligent individuals less than their counterparts, motivating their competent employees to move overseas. Eventually, the poorer countries will learn to appreciate and retain their citizens; however, this will not happen any time soon because of corruption. To illustrate, although a long time ago in my home country, many bright people were forced to leave the country due to inequity and corruption, now they are encouraged to return to my country by offering monetary incentives.

In conclusion, people who come from developing countries usually experience inequity in the workplace, and they also are not so precious to these countries. This explains why they abandon their own country for richer ones. To reiterate, I completely agree with the second community believing that it is normal for employees to work elsewhere.