Talk about how the poets show their respect to animals.

Please help me. Thanks deeply!!:)

Respect Animals

The poems "Agamemnon" written by Celeste Perri, "Snake" written by D.H. Lawrence, and "Dreams of the Animals" written by Margaret Atwood all talk about animals. All of these poets show their respect to animals.

In similarity, they all used simile or metaphor to indicate that animals were kings. For instance, in the poems "Agamemnon", Perri thought her cat was Agamemnon, "king of Mycenae and commander in chief of the Greek army in the Trojan war, killed by his wife, Clytemnestra". When Perri's cat would "fall gently into sleep", she said "I felt like/ Clytemnestra in the bathtub, how she held/ that knife in her hand and stabbed and stabbed and stabbed". Perri thought her cat was a king, and she thought she was the king's wife. She felt so sad about her cat's death. In the poem "Dreams of the Animals", Atwood thought the animals were king. Atwood said "the iguana/ in the pet shop window/ on St. Catherine St./ crested, royal-eyed, ruling/ its kingdom of water-dish and sawdust". In the poem, "Snake", Lawrence thought the snake, which came to his house, seemed like a king. He said "[f]or he seemed to me again like a king,/ Like a king in exile, uncrowned in the underworld,/ Now due to be crowned again". A king is respected by all people. These poets thought those animals were kings, who can receive all respect. They show their respect to animals.

The other one, which shows their respect to animals, is that all three poets showed their sympathy and regret to the animals. Perri said "when I saw a grey cat on the side of/ the road and his face was all bloody and wrong/ and I cried and cried at the roadside/ because it was such a hot day, such a violently awful death." Perri was very sad and frustrated. She felt regret to kill her cat. She missed her cat so much. However, she could not her cat back any more. Atwood talked about the sadness of the animals who were in the zoo. Atwood said "the caged armadillo/ near the train/ station, which runs/ all day in figure eights/ its piglet feet pattering, no longer dreams/ but its insane when waking". Atwood talked that armadillo, which was in the zoo, was catatonic. These kinds of animals just repeated the same thing over and over again. Their mind was gone. They even could not control their lives. Atwood thought they were pathetic. Lawrence said "And immediately I regretted it./ I thought how paltry, how vular, what a mean act! I despised myself and the voices of my accursed human education". The snake did nothing to Lawrence. Nevertheless, he tried to kill it because of his education. He had doubt his education. These kinds of animals should be killed even though they did not do anything bad. Lawrence felt deeply regretful to the snake. These three poets felt sympathy to those animals because they respected those animals.

In conclusion, it is clear that the poets of "Agamemnon", "Dreams of the Animals" and "Snake" all respect animals. They thought animals were like kings to show their respect. They all felt sympathy and had regret to animals, also a sign of respect.