TED Talk Summary 1: Grit - The Power of Passion and Perseverance - Angela Lee Duckworth

Intelligence Quotient (IQ) was not the only difference between the best and the worst students. In education, the one thing is known to measure best is IQ. In all those very different contexts, one characteristic emerged as a significant predictor of success and it was not social intelligence, not good looks, physical health, and not IQ. It was grit. The Grit is passion and perseverance for very long-term goals. The grit is sticking with your future and working really hard to make that future a reality. The grit is living life like it's marathon, not a sprint. A talent does not make our gritty. The grit is usually unrelated or even inversely related to a measure of talent. When kids read and learn about the brain and how it changes and grows in response to a challenge, they are much more likely to persevere when they fail because they do not believe that failure is a permanent condition. Finally, growing mindset is a great idea for building grit.