TED talks: My underwater robot for ocean exploration.

My underwater robot

By David Lang

In recent days, NASA uses undersea laboratory combined with underwater robot to train astronauts and aquanauts in such an extreme condition. They use ROV (remote operated vehicle) robots to record video in deep sea across with ultra-thin wires back to computer topside. Such a ROV is open-source which means we can modify it without restriction. Such a cutting-edge technology is virtually 1,000 times cheaper than underwater robot that used in exploring Titanic.

ROV is usually used to explore the oceans for oil and gas exploration or construction. However, David Lang, the speaker, built the unique one. At the beginning, the idea came from him and his friend to search lost gold in the underwater cave. Due to lack of technology and money, the decided to ask in the internet, and they made web, namely openROV. In such a website, experts, like ocean engineers, could be involved. Because of such a brilliant idea, people around the world were interested, and supported them to make 'little company' that produced ROV kits that people could build ROV by themselves. Therefore, such a breakthrough will open the world with global ocean exploration.