What should be taught in universities?

It is widely believed that university acts as a main drive for economic growth, a strong foundation fo individuals prosperity and social mobility. However, it is controversial whether universities should only provide students with essential knowledge and skills in their workplace or make knowledge accessible to students, regardless of future use. Personally, i strongly think universities should concentrate their main concern on students employability.

Judging by the present situation, youth unemployment seems to increase at a rapid pace. The main culprit of this phenomenon is believed to be the unpractical and unrealistic curricula provided by universities. Therefore, universities should change their management system and focus on providing students with needed skills in the workplace. To be more specific, for students who aim to be self-employed in the future, skills related to entrepreneurship should be their main focus. On the contrary, for those who wish to work for a big corporation with international repute, such skills as team-work, critical thinking or problem solving must be enhanced.

This does not necessarily mean that we should overlook other academic subjects because there is rarely any subjects deemed useless in academic environment. In effect, all subjects solve different purposes, which, at some point of our life, may be useful. For example, for those who major in literature, history can provide them with useful material for their writings. Therefore, universities should spend a fair amount of resource on those subjects, especially in an era where multi-ability is becoming increasingly important.

In the nutshell, schools should focus on teaching essential skills for future employment without overlooking and forgetting about other subjects.