IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - TAX LIABILITY OF PARENTS OF CHILDREN ENROLLING IN PRIVATE SCHOOLS

Subject:

Families who send their children to private schools should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Answer:

Some people hold conflicting views about paying taxes by parents those children study at private schools. While a number of people reckon that they are worth being deducted taxes, I completely disagree with the aforementioned point.

There are various compelling reasons why governments should not reduce tax liability to parents of children enrolling in private schools. Firstly, it would be difficult to calculate the correct amount of tax deduction for wealthy families. This kind of work requires more public staff to manage and thus the state budgets might be drained by an unnecessary expenditure. Secondly, citizens invariably pay a certain amount of tax for public services that they may not use. For example, most taxpayers are fortunate enough not to have a call in an emergency situation to the police or the hospital at any time in their lives, but they would not expect a tax discount for this.

In my opinion, I firmly hold the view that families of children educated in non-public institutions should delightfully take the blame for paying taxes to support public schools. The first reason is that these people can substantially contribute to build an equal education system for everyone regardless their circumstances. A great number of poorer children might take opportunities to improve background due to being accessed to the high quality education as well as children from rich families. Additionally, through tax obligations, wealthy people might foster their economic background. Indeed, businesses owned by rich families might flourish as a well-funded education system allows to generate well-trained workforce to these enterprises.

In conclusion, while many people think that any financial reduction for families sending their children to private schools is essential, I believe that it should be not considered.