Tax private car owners to improve public transportation - ADVANTAGE AND DISADVANTAGE?

the policy of taxing private car owners

In order to deal with the current dense volume of traffic, the Vietnamese government suggests a policy in which private car owners should be charged a high fee to improve public transportation. This policy would lead to certain benefits such as reducing traffic density and improving air quality but there are also drawbacks such as causing inconveniences due to the unavailability of public transportation.

On the one hand, the policy would help reduce traffic density and improve air quality. This is because when people are charged a high fee every time they use their cars, they only use them when it is necessary or when they are in emergencies, which would cut down on the number of cars at one time, particularly during rush hours, and ease the traffic density. Additionally, some would choose public transportation for remote purposes instead to avoid paying the tax. This, thus, ends up lower the amount of CO2 emitted into the environment and boosts the overall air quality of the country.

On the other hand, the policy may cause several certain inconveniences due to the unavailability of public transportation. Many areas in Vietnam do not have access to public transportation. Therefore, some can be placed in a situation where they do not have any choice but to use their private cars. For example, one lives in a small town that doesn't have any bus stop or train stations. He/she has to use his/her private car to go to work and pay a heavy tax for using car. However, he/she doesn't have a chance to use public transportation and save money spent on the tax like others, which is quite unfair for him/her.

In conclusion, the policy of taxing private car owners to improve public transportation can help alleviate the volume of traffic and air pollution in Vietnam. Nonetheless, this also leads to some inconveniences because of the unavailability of public transportation. To enhance the efficiency of the policy, the government should widen the public transportation system first to make sure everyone can access them.