IELTS Task 2. Tax on Private Schools Should Not Be Paid

Families who send their children to private schools should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Governments hold the responsibility to boost the country's education system. Thus, many people claim the tax that parent should pay when they bring their kids to private school as its long term benefits will be directed to the nation itself. However, I totally disagree to this view due to some reasons.

To begin with, private school's role has not been only as an education facility but also a business commodity for its owner. On the other hand, it is a regulation for the customer to pay the tax of a product they use. As private school is a product for its students as its customers, the duty to pay the tax is hold by the learners' parents.

Moreover, government has provided free education facilities through state school under purpose to support the quality of education in a nation. As an obvious example, the government in Indonesia has provided a tremendous number of schools which are spread in all part of this country. Here, it can be seen that the aim to support the state education system has been fulfilled by the existence of that state schools. So, the reason is not strong to base that general opposite view for the paying tax regulation.

To conclude, paying tax is an absolute duty of families who send their children to private school despite the reason to support education system of a country as this responsibility has been guaranteed by the existence of state education institution. Then, it is highly suggested to the parents who are unable to pay the tax to choose state school for their children for free charge.