IELTS Task2: Teacher's responsibility in Student Upbringing

Topic: Some people think that teachers should be responsible for teaching students to judge what is right and what is wrong so that they can behave well. Others think that teachers should only teach academic subjects to students.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Today's students are tomorrow's future. It is very important that students should grow up as responsible citizens of the society. The role of parents and teachers in student's upbringing is always a topic of debate. Some people say that teacher's responsibility is not just limited to teaching academics but also help them understand the morals of society whereas few argue that teacher's role should be confined to teaching academics alone.

I firmly believe that teacher's should not only focus on academics but also concentrate on building the attitude of a student.

The reason why teacher's role is much more than teaching mere academics is -

Firstly. school is a place where students acquire many behavioral skills needed for society such as communicating with others, sharing things with friends, involving in debates and discussions. These socializing skills define the traits of a student and therefore school plays an important role in building the right attitude. In addition, since students tend to spend lot of time at school, the influence of their peers is immense and also parents cannot always monitor every move of their child while they are away from home. Given the fact of distraction levels during schooling age, it becomes very essential that teachers keep an eye and guide them as to differentiate between right and wrong.

However, on the other hand some people argue that teachers should only teach academics and there is no need for teachers to focus on attitude building for students. I think given the growing needs and increase in standards of life, it has become imperative that both parents need to work. Therefore, parents cannot devote much attention towards their child's education and attitude. In addition, education has become much matured than mere academics, subjects like moral science needs practical approach.

Finally, in my opinion there is no doubt that teacher's contribution in a student's development is beyond teaching academics. However, it is the right balance between the teachers and parents' attitude that nurture the good qualities in student needed for society.