TOEFL: Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

teachers are vital for our society

Teachers are very crucial for students. However, in my view, I agree with the statement that teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays. There are several reasons including different historical background, different parents' views and different relationship between students and teachers.

First of all, from the perspective of the history, I consider teachers were more respected and valued in the past. For example, around 70 years before, my country was ruled by an authoritarian party, so the teacher symbolized the knowledge and the right. Therefore, students could not say anything wrong about teachers, and parents did not doubt the teachers' decision. They were appreciated by parents and students. However, in modern time, in the democratic country, students will doubt teachers when they teach something wrong. The society does not think that teachers are always right, so they are less valued now.

Additionally, as time goes on, parents' views change. For instance, in the past, they always thought that teachers were right and could help them to teach the children. They also gave teachers right to hit children when they did not listen to teachers or they got the bad score on exams because they considered that teachers had the higher level education than the general public, so teachers could always do the right decision Nevertheless, more and more people get the post-secondary education so parents do not think that teachers can make definite decisions, and they also will not let their children hit by teachers. Therefore, I consider that the status of parents and teachers are equal now, so they do not think that teachers are highly valued.

Lastly, the relationship between teachers and children changes, too. For example, in the past, students always needed to follow what teachers said. If the student did not follow teachers, the student would be punished seriously. By contrast, students nowadays can discuss with teachers when they consider that teachers' points are wrong. As a result, the connection between students and teachers is more flexible than before, so teachers may not be appreciated and valued by society now.

In conclusion, I think teachers are still vital for our society, but the time changes, so teachers were highly appreciated and valued by society in the past than in the modern society. I consider the reasons may be the different background, changing views of parents, and different relationship between students and teachers.