Teachers should not talk about their personal viewpoints like the social and political ones.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

This is an issue that has been discussed a lot and I think it is important because it is related with teaching and education which play important roles in students' lives. People have different viewpoints regarding this subject. I agree with the statement that teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom for following reasons:

One reason is that revealing personal opinions about social and political matters is not one of the duties of a teacher. A teacher is expected to teach and answer to the questions of students about a specific subject. However, he should not talk about his personal beliefs because they are irrelevant and would waste the time of the class. Rather than talking about those things, other helpful and positive tasks can be done. For example, he can set a time in the class for solving extra practices for students in order to increase their rate of learning. Thus, this is a significant point that should be noticed.

Another reason is that disclosing social and political views may influence the opinions of students about a particular subject in a negative way. This could be more serious when students are very young. For instance, consider a teacher who has an immoral and irrational viewpoint about those issues. Some of his students who are not taught to think independently and openly, may accept his ideas without giving any thoughts just because his older and more knowledgeable. Now if those students act upon those beliefs, they may harm people and even endanger themselves. To clarify, imagine a student who accepts his teacher's sayings about lying for gaining personal interests. This way, by starting telling lies again and again to public, he will become untrustworthy among society members. As you can see, teachers should be careful what they talk about in the classroom.

In sum, though some people may disagree with me, I believe that teachers should not talk about their personal viewpoints like the social and political ones. First, because it is not one of their duties to do so and second, it could have a bad impact on their students. In my view, teachers and professors should consider the reasons mentioned above and focus on doing what they are paid for.