Essays (IELTS Writing Task 2) about teaching arts in school

art-based subjects and academic performance

Topic: Some educationalists argue that non-exam, art-based subjects, such as music, drama, art and craft, should be compulsory in the secondary-school curriculum. They believe that activities such as these can improve overall academic performance.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Please give me some feedback. Thank you so much!!!

According to some education experts, art disciplines such as drawing, music or drama should be taught in secondary school. While this suggestion may be disadvantageous in several situations, these courses, in my opinion, can offer students a comprehensive development.

It is true that non-exam arts-based subjects have negative effects for certain reasons. Secondary pupils, especial those in the last grade, usually have to deal with heavy schedule of academic lessons so they do not have enough time for other art courses. For example, in Vietnam, ninth-grade students not only take two semester exams but also another competitive entry one to be entitled to their dream high school. It is also that there might be some individuals who always underestimate the value of arts and tend to keep them on the periphery, which can make these courses more low-quality.

Despite the mentioned above demerits, it is inevitable that art disciplines teach learners how to work as a team. A student who participates in a drama or a play has to co-operate with other members to build up a successful performance. This can improve their ability to handle different types of situations and conflicts among teammates, one of the essential skills for their future prospects.

Additionally, music, painting or handcraft can enhance students' creativity and imagination. Those are crucial for boosting an overall development as Albert Einstein used to say: "Imagination is more important than knowledge". Academic subjects may offer students a wide range of universal knowledge but arts, from my perspective, can stimulate pupils to discover themselves and new approaches to tackle a problem, and also help them relieve stress after solving difficult Math or Chemistry assignments.

In conclusion, while art-based subjects have some drawbacks, I believe that secondary students should be obliged to take part in these courses to enhance their soft skills and other aspects.