TECHNOLOGICAL FOODS IS HARMFUL TO PEOPLE'S HEALTH ( IELTS )

The range and quanlity of food that we can buy has changed because of technological and scientific advances. Some people regard this change as an improvement while other believe that it is harmful. Discuss both view and give opinions.

Opinions differ on whether technological advances in food production are benefical or not. I believe that on the whole the advances do not benefit the health and the public.

On the one hand, it is an undeniable fact that technological and scientific advanced has certainly brought some positives. Firstly, almost famers can produce crops that grow bigger and faster as well as modifying crops to be more resistant to disease or insects. The result is that the faster growing cereals, the more profit farmers obtain from fruits and vegetables. Secondly, foods can be processed to look perfect and last longer by using preservative and spectacular packings. Consequently, they may be more attractive to customers.

On the other hand, this development could be more detrimental in terms of environment and health. For example, farming with fertilizers and pesticides is more and more enviromently unfriendly, even causes pollution in air, water and land. Another negative point is that many people now distrust foods that have been modified and processed, they tend to profer organic foods which are produced without chemicals. The most obvious explanation is that there may be risks resulting in serious health problem, such as food poisoning or long-term effects from the genetic enfineering of foods.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against advances in food technology, but I believe that this change is far more harmful to health and environment.