Technology Brings Changes toward People's Interaction

technology and its effects on relationships

Original question:

Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

In modern society, technology brings changes toward people's interaction.

It is common that everyone is equipped with a high-tech device, which makes the contact with friends or relatives more convenient and efficient. For instance, people tend to send text messages or make a phone call on apps via mobile phone rather than writing email or even physical letter. Besides, technology makes it easier to find new friends online. Couple of dating apps can be found on apps store such as Pairs or Goodnight in Taiwan for people to find their partners. People do not have to worry about how to create an opportunity to meet the opposite gender. All the information is collected online whenever and wherever they need.

Despite of the benefits of technology, I still tend to hold negative perspective toward this development. On one hand, people will lose the social skills due to lack of interaction in reality. Some people who are active on social media turn out to be shy and uneasy when associating with others in their real life. Technology makes people put to much time on virtual interaction online and ignore the importance to interact with people in reality. On the other hand, fraud is easier to be attained because of information asymmetry online. Lots of cases about online scams are broadcasted frequently on news programs. Especially for teenagers who cannot differentiate between right and wrong, it is dangerous for them to be exposed too much on those apps.

To sum up, technology indeed brings efficiency and convenience to our life. However, without the carefulness, it might also be harmful to us.