Technology has changed the way people work

Information technology enables many people to their work outside their workplace (e.g. at home, when travelling, etc.)

Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the advantages?

Technology has changed the way people work. In the modern era, it makes possible some people to work outside their office and encourage them to do their work at home or when they are travelling. It is agreed that technology brings threefold merits rather than demerits people can save time or money, raise job satisfaction and connect with workers in different countries. However, technology leads to unhealthy lifestyle among workers.

A convincing argument can be made that information technology is not only playing a pivotal role the way people doing their job, but can also save time and money of the employees. Predominant people face traffic congestion when they want to attend at their workplace. It is definitely that it makes them spend a lot of time on the road and burning a huge amount of fuel, like gasoline.

Nowadays, many people work part-time or have flexible working hours and technology have allowed people to work from home or in their leisure time. As a result, some workers witness a good work or life balance which can raise job satisfaction. People who work in international business have to read hundreds of corporate activities email or messages every day, it means that technology can connect with labours in different countries in many parts of the world.

Apart from this, people who work in their home tend to experience the sedentary lifestyle. They are more likely to spend their time sitting in front of the computer monitor or smartphones rather than going out and taking regular exercise. Consequently, they are vulnerable to become obesity sufferer and cardiovascular disease risk. A 2013 British study showed that after 90 minutes of sitting your metabolism shuts down and the body's cells become less responsive to insulin and muscles release lower levels of the enzyme which burn cholesterol.

In conclusion, it is believed that information technology plays a significant role to assist people work that make it possible to be done without attending in their office. There are some advantages and disadvantages related to this matter.