Technology and Crime Rate - IELTS Writing Task 2- Opinion Essay

technology's impact on the criminal cases

Hello everyone,

I have been studying for takin IELTS as soon as possible. It'd be great, if someone evaluate my essay. Thanks in advance.

Best,

Question:

The crime rate nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance technology which can prevent and solve crime.

Do you agree or disagree?

My answer:

It is argued that the numbers of criminal incident are lower than before because of the developing technology which keeps people away from the criminal world. I partly agree the view that advancements in technology have impact on the rate of committing crimes, while I believe that also the offenders benefit from the technological developments.

On the one hand, the technology always helps officers catching the offenders or stopping the people who plan to commit a crime throughout the history. Besides for that, nowadays, there are lots of breakthrough regarded preventing most crimes. For example, officers have the fingerprints of ex-offenders which enable polices to find out the re-offenders. Furthermore, it can easily be said that computer-based systems or surveillance cameras contribute to agencies when they need to track some murderers or to monitor the money-transfer of some terrorists. Moreover, the advancements in technology also make individuals keep in safe, giving the equipments of home security or some applications on smart phones which are capable of calling the police when the user is in a dangerous situation.

On the other hand, the technological benefits bring their own-risks in the modern world. There are various technological advancements which make the criminal people's jobs easier than ever since the market is useful for all people. Most of systems which are built up by computers have their own security barriers which it means that they also have some loops in their security systems. For example, even though digital banking is fairly beneficial for customers, there are certain risks like phishing users' ID or cracking the all security barriers. Likewise, there are some the cyber-risks for citizens.

In conclusion, there are obviously some pros and cons related to the technology's impact on the criminal cases. I partly support the people who claim that nowadays the technological developments contribute to prevent crimes, whilst I think the some developments in technology adversely impact the criminal world.