Is technology effects on communication good or bad?

Nowadays communication technology is developing rapidly; people communicate in different ways. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience.

Technology gives us a great deal of chance to communicate with people in various ways. Some people believe that modern devices have many demerits, while others have positive opinion about new ways to communicate with each others. Both situations have their own pros and cons which I shall discuss in this essay.

To begin with, technology provides many gadgets to communicate. By increasing the use of computers, many software programs are developed to chat. People can see and speak with each other simultaneously. This situation increases many flexibility to communicate, for example many classes can be online, therefore, students and teachers do not have to be in the same places. Also, emerging mobiles helps people to connect without considering where they are. People can send messages to friends and families in different places including at work places, at cars or even at street.

On the other hand, using electrical devices decreases face- to - face communication. In the past when people wanted to speak to each other, they had to go to other houses or places where they could visit others. However, these days individuals can stay their home and use electrical gadgets to say hello. What is more, using new electrical devices reduces people's attention to others who are around them. The tendency to speak with individuals who stay in the same places decreases considerably, since people use mobiles or ipads to speak with own friends. In restaurants or public transportations, I have seen many teenagers or adults speak by their cell phones all the time.

In conclusion, technology helps people to communicate with each other very easily. audio and video communications become more popular among different people.