Technology effects; making friends and communicate with one another is different

Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

The rapid pace of development in technology has changed the way people communicate with each other. The essay intends to explore the changes and the negative impact that may be brought out.

Firstly, the prevalence of the Internet has induced the invention of online social networking platforms such as Facebook and Twitter. People nowadays spend a considerable amount of time surfing those websites and making comments on their friends' status, instead of talking with their friends face to face or even over telephone.

Moreover, the traditional ways of making friends have been transformed due to the emergence of those social platforms. In the past, people made friends by going to various functions such as student clubs or by introducing friends to friends. In the computerized world, people would rather make friends through online chat rooms and other communication software like MSN.

However, those technological advancement has posed certain degree of threats to the users. With the increased use of the Internet for the purpose of communicating, people are indulged in the cyber world and are reluctant to face the reality. Besides, people infrequently communicating face to face may result in poor social interpersonal skills. Another threat of Internet is that the virtual world is full of lies and scams. It is not a wise choice to meet a stranger through the network.

To conclude, technology has changed the methods how people make friends and communicate with one another. However, the potential hazards of it should not be ignored at any circumstance.