Does Technology narrow or widen the poverty gap?

Wealth and Technology

Some people think that the range of technology currently available is increasing the gap between rich people and poor people. Others think that it is causing the opposite effect. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

Can you please mark my essay and tell me what band do I score? Thank you

There is no doubt that modern technology is reshaping our planet and affecting every aspects of human lives. While some people argue that technological advancements have widened the gap between the wealthy and the poor, I believe that certain technologies are available to all people in the society and make contributions to bridging the wealth gap.

On the one hand , there are several reasons that the wealth inequality is increasing. One reason is the automation. Drive by technology, automation reduces the need of manual labour . As a result, less work opportunities are available for unskilled people who are in lower classes. Furthermore, in term of medical neo -tech, although more and more advanced treatments and medicines are developed to cure a range of diseases, the price of medication is increasingly higher that it is only affordable to rich people. The poor have to spend all of their money for conventional treatments and yet there is no guarantee that their condition will improve. For example, so many poor people are suffering from a lot of chronic illnesses such as cancer or asthma and even die without receiving medical care.

On the other hand, certain innovations and discoveries in technology play an integral role in filling the gap between the rich and the poor. Firstly, some technological advancements are accessible to all people among different social classes due to their availability at cheaper rate. The Internet, for example, is available to almost all section of the society. Secondly, modern technologies have provided great opportunities for the poor to get rich. For instance, the Internet has already made many people become wealthy by setting their own commercial websites. Compared with traditional industries, which require a large initial investment and higher operation cost, the Internet is a much better and cheaper platform to make a fortune for people from all social backgrounds.

In conclusion, although some claim that modern technology increases the gap between the rich and the poor, I strongly believe that it could possibly narrow the difference between social classes.