'because of the Technology and sophisticated products' - IELTS essay

Tppic : The best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel

Life has become more comfortable as never before because of the Technology and sophisticated products. Almost all these technologies and products consume fuel directly or indirectly so as to function properly. The ever increasing use of fuel is leading to some of the most burning environmental problems that mankind has ever witnessed. Air-pollution and global warming are just some examples. Of course there are some solutions to these environmental problems and increasing the cost of fuel is one of them. This essay will shed light on various alternative solutions of the problem and will recommend the best possible one after analyzing all the solutions.

One of the solutions of curbing the environmental problem might be to educate the people about the harmful effects of using fuel. While this might be a good solution but it might not be the best one because it is a natural tendency for people to opt for cheaper way of fulfilling their need. That means people will continue to use the fuel as long as it is affordable/available.

Another solution might be increasing the cost of fuel. When the cost continue to increase, at some point the poor uneducated people can no longer afford it and hence can not use it. At the same time, increase in cost of fuel will work as a signal for the educated people to stop using fuel. One of the problems while implementing this solution might be that majority of people will protest against the solution, so they must be presented with the alternative of fuel.

Though it can not be denied that there are some drawbacks on both of the above discussed solutions but it is also true that no solution is perfect and it is always wise to select the best possible solution out of all available solutions. Increasing the cost of fuel seems the best solution.