essay about technology and traditional skills and life ways--feedback

When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

With the development of technology, some people say it is unnecessary to keep the traditional skills and ways of life to be alive in modern society. I partially agree with this opinion and it will be discussed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, technology increases efficiency and productivity in industry and agriculture. By using machinery, people use less labor but have higher productivity. It also helps them to finish the same task in a shorter time. For example, in the past, farmers used to plow fields by cows, sow and mow the grain by hand. The harvest could support a few families for a year. However, with the help of tractors and other agriculture equipment, farmers are able to provide food for hundreds of households within the same time.

Secondly, technology also helps to protect people from danger. Nowadays, robots perform many production line tasks in factories. For instance, in car factories, simply by pressing buttons, mechanists could lift heavy car parts without doing any lifting.

However, technology can't replace traditional skills in some areas. Machinery may not be able to achieve the same high quality as handcraft. For example, some parts of a Rolex watch need to be made by hands because of its sophisticated internal mechanisms. In addition, some traditional ways of life are not only long-established lifestyles, but also have cultural significances. For instance, in the Mid-Autumn Festival in China, families gather and have dinner together. This meal is very important to Chinese families.

All in all, technology has its advantages in increasing efficiency, productivity and preventing harms in modern industry. However, it can not take place of traditional skills and ways of life totally.