Technology versus art - what is an essential subject for children at school

IELTS Essay: Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Art as a subject in school has been arguable topic. One portion of the world population believes art as a subject is just wastage of time, while others consider it as vital portion of human generation. In this essay, first will show how modern technology are replacing art, then will show how art helps children, then finally will present reasonable conclusion.

Modern technology has become indivisible part of the human life. We cannot think life without technology. For instance, computer literacy has become essential for everyone, and one who does not know how to handle computer is considered as illiterate. Due to this modernization, some argue that children should be taught technology related subject as they can help them for their career growth and earnings. From their point of view, traditional subjects like art are only wastage of time and worth to be replaced by technology related subjects.

On the flip side, art is very important part of the human life and always been a medium of expressing feelings specifically for children. For instance, child who always prefers their comfortable zone can express their feelings by means of painting. Apart from this, in this era of competition, while stress seems to be indivisible part of human race, arts can act as a way to release stress. For example, nowadays music therapy is used to cure depression. In addition to this, arts like dancing keeps child not only fit but also healthy.

To conclude, although arts subjects are essential for overall growth of a person, modern technology related subjects like science and mathematics are essential for career growth. In my opinion, although children should be taught all the subjects in primary education, they should be given choice to select subject in secondary education.