IELTS Writing Task: technology and the wealth gap

Topic: Some people argue that modern technology is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. To what extent do you disagree or agree.

modern technology and financial inequality

Modern science and technology have benefited humans meanwhile led to changes in society. It is believed that the development of technology results growing inequality. From my perspective, technological advancement generally improves all humans' quality of life but also widens the wealth gap significantly.

Modern technology has contributed to the increase of economic inequality. Not only does automatic control technology result in lower production costs but also raise the unemployment rate as workers replaced by machines, which means that factory owners could earn more profits than before, but in the meanwhile, the economic condition of workers, especially blue-collar workers, become worse. Secondly, the wider gap is also due to globalization, which stems from advanced information technology and modern transport system. By using the modern means of transportation and communication, firms are able to invest, manage and market overseas, which leads to increasing monopoly powers and an exploding wealth of these business owners and senior managers who are already rich. As the contrast, the wage level of workers has unchanged even shrunk since factories migrated to low-wage countries.

On the other hand, technology has positive effects on both wealth and poor people and creates many opportunities such as doing small business online. However, that is not likely to reverse the general trend that the demand for blue-collar workers has been declining. Improvement of technology shall be more beneficial to people who with the expertise and creativity to use these advances, which drives income inequality: well-educated workers could have a higher income, but workers with less education and expertise fall behind.

To sum up, the wealth gap has becoming widened due to modern technology. As a necessary factor of inequality, the effect of scientific technology to the social structure should have drawn widespread attention because only when people faced up to this problem can it be solved.