(TED Talks) Why good hackers make good citizens

According to Catherine Bracy, hacking is not always a bad action. She said that Benjamin Franklin was the greatest hacker of all time because of because his belief that government can be built by the people. Catherine defined those as civic hackers who support government to overcome dozen of problems. She explained what civic hackers exactly looks like. For example, they build a new super simple website to answer common questions from people in Honolulu and Auckland called 'Honolulu Answers' and 'Auckland Answers' since local inhabitants face trouble to interact with government's websites. She believes that civic hacking can rebuild citizenship and rebuild trust in government. Therefore, citizens can participate to take action of parliament's problems and cooperate to fix them. Moreover, she and her team has followed Benjamin Franklin's foot step by founding 31 Brigade in America and they will open their first international Brigade in Poland, Japan, and Ireland. Their goal is to set up broader civic hacker network.