"Teenage Driving Statistics" - Driving Licenses for People Under Eighteen Years Old

No Driving Licenses for People Under 18

Do you know that one of the major causes of death for many teenagers is car accidents? "Teenage Driving Statistics" showed that 16-years-old teenagers were three times more likely to die in car accidents than the average of all drivers. In 2002, the estimated economic impact of car accidents involving drivers aged 15-18 was 40.8 billion dollars. There is the possibility of parents losing control of their children, teenage immaturity, and teenage accident and death histories. Which are three main reasons why driving licenses should not be issued to people under 18. In my point of view I prefer that the legal age of driving should be 18 and below.

First, when young people get their driving licenses, parents will not be able to guide them. The majority of these children are at high school or college; they tend to be looking for freedom. As soon as they get their driving licenses, they will have the feeling of independence and freedom. This leads to more self-confidence than is warranted. Their parents will not have control over their children the way they want to. And they will no longer be able to show them how they want to be again. For example, Alicia Betancourt, a 16-year-old girl, obtained a driver's license and began living outside her parents' home. In June 2008, she was caught with a group of young boys and girls because of their drug addiction.

Second, young people are often not good drivers because they are usually young and immature. They are more disturbed than other drivers and are less likely to respond quickly to road accidents. Also, young people are known to like chasing. As soon as they sit behind the wheel, they tend to show off and speed up. It's easy to take risks, especially for young men, and drivers under the age of 18 distract themselves while driving with a variety of activities, including messages, watching videos, and reading books. Insurance companies show that drivers aged 15 to 18 are more likely to use a cell phone while driving than older drivers. Mobile phone use has caused many accidents in the United States.

The last and most important point is the high number of deaths. According to a survey conducted by the American Automobile Association (AAA) between 1995 and 2004, collisions involving drivers aged 15 to 17 took their lives. It also found that 63,000 youth aged 15 to 18 died in car accidents during the decade the 1990s. In 2002, the National Center for Statistics and Analysis reported that 8,278 young people were involved in fatal accidents. In 2003 alone, teenagers accounted for an estimated 1.5 million accidents. These studies show that the number of children dying from car accidents is increasing.

Opponents of the idea claim that these young people are old enough to drive a car to school and do their activities on their own. Also, they are no longer considered children. These criticisms are all valid, but they are only part of the story. After reading the statistics and reasons, there is no intelligent person who will agree with these criticisms.

In conclusion, there are many reasons why people under the age of 18 should not obtain their driving licenses. Loss of parental control over their children, the immaturity of teenagers, and the accident and death history of teenagers are the main reasons. Statistics show that people under the age of 18 have a higher risk of death than older people. The government should think about the huge risks involved in issuing driver licenses to these kids.