[toefl task] TELEPHONE or TELEVISION? Which one is more effective in people's life?

Do you agree that telephones are playing a more effective role than television in people's life?

With rapid technological advancement, there were many devices that became almost a part of our lives. Among them a telephone and a television take very prominent positions. While some people believe that telephones play a more effective role in our lives than television, others do not agree with this view. However, I deem that telephones more considerably contribute to leading our lives comfortably.

To begin with, a telephone has changed the way that people contact each other. Devoid of telephones, people keep in touch via letters which are apparently inefficient compared with telephones. In this way, contacting another people in a different area needs at least one week. Whereas owning to telephones, the human's dream, effective, efficient and synchronal communication, has come true. Currently, we can communicate with friends, family members and colleagues each day as long as we want to. Before the arrival of a telephone at my home, for instance, I kept in touch with my grandma who living in a city 100 miles away. Every month, at most two letters would be delivered to me. Notably, such way is so inefficient that we usually had to note what to tell. Worse yet, even so many things had still been missed. Ironically, after telephone's advent, we never have to note the things because we contact each other almost every day. Therefore, it is a telephone that renders my life effective and efficient.

Furthermore, telephones make the distance between people to people closer. In ancient time, every country seems detached as an island. Accordingly, it is far from imaginable that people in different countries or remote areas might know each other. However, nowadays we can talk to a distant stranger merely through a telephone. My friend Jane is furthering her education in Germany, while I am in China. At the beginning of her German experience, she felt depress for a brand new surroundings. She called on me roughly three times each week to release her emotion. It is a telephone that makes us nearby.

There are two sides to every coin. Televisions have made certain contributions as well. Thanks to televisions, word spreads what is happening in the world by televisions. However with the rapid development of internet technology, a computer can be regarded as a substitute of a television. So now the merits of televisions have been undermined to a large extent.

To sum up, the role which telephones play on people's lives cannot be exaggerated more, while televisions' have been slight gradually. Thus, I incubate an idea that telephones are playing a more effective role than televisions on people's lives