Talent shows - a good method of finding talented people, or just entertainment?

Televised talent shows have become popular in many societies today.

Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, or are they just entertainment?

In this day and age, people in many countries have been familiar with talent competitions on television. There are those who argue that these shows are an great approach for hunting the veiled talents, while others oppose the view and claim that they are nothing but amusement. In the following discussion I will show both the points have some merits.

Looking back on the past, people used not to have a lot of opportunities to manifest their natural ability. It is a different experience when these days anyone can participate in a talent contest no matter who they are or where they are from. These competitions are seemingly a golden platform for common people to show their hidden talent, turn their dreams into reality, and help them ultimately change from 'ordinary' people to 'well-known' figure. What is more, the competitors have the chance to receive worthy rewards from the shows like "The Voice", "Road to Mount Olympia", "Vietnam's Got Talent"... Also, they can even become country's delegate to go in for international arena with the aim of bringing fame to their own country in the competitions such as "The Brain", "Miss Universe"... Therefore, it is probably that the televised competitions is a positively good way to find gifted people.

On the other hand, in my opinion, the televised shows have achieved entertaining purpose greatly. Firstly, participants can have a whale of a time when joining in the contests, even if they are not winners. In addition, the amusement from these shows such as comedy, music... may bring chirky relaxing moments for viewers so as to refresh themselves after a busy day. Also, the more people enjoy the shows, the higher the ratings are and consequently, the broadcaster can earn more financial profits. As for me, it is probably an appropriate circle.

In conclusion, I am convinced that talent contests on television are a good way as a mean to look for hidden talents. Moreover, they could also be a really entertaining way for people who want to relax or want to give it a try intending to challenge themselves.