TOEFL Task 2 - Television ads targeted at young children - what is their influence on youngsters?

Television advertising toward young children

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television ads targeted at young children have become increasingly common over the last few decades. The main channel used is television. In my opinion, those aggressive marketing campaigns compromise the development of young people. They ought to be strictly regulated.

First of all, between the aged two to five, the brain of young children is in rapid growth. Everyday a huge amount of brain cells are created. Their brains work as giant sponge that record unconsciously external information around them. Therefore young children are extremely sensitive and should not be exposed to whatever content.

Furthermore at such a young age critical reasoning does not exist. There is no critical distance between what is seen and heard on the television. A child is very candid and something told on TV must be true. If "Red Bull gives you wing" and I drink a Red Bull I will be able to fly. It is basic common sense. There is no filter.

In other words, by exposition children at a young age to aggressive marketing ads not only do we jeopardize their brain development but we also turn them into mindless consumers. Regulating specific marketing campaign toward the young is a first step but is by far not enough. Parents should keep their children away from marketing content altogether (not just the one specifically addressed to the young). As long as fruits and vegetables are not advertised toward young children we should be careful with that kind of marketing. Otherwise the consumption of junk food and soda is going to be deeply ingrained in their behaviour.

To conclude, strict regulation of television ads toward the young is better than nothing. Nonetheless parents also have a part to play and should keep their child away from marketing content on the whole.