Television damaged our interactions and made us disconnect from each other for several reasons.

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television has destroyed communication among friends and family. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Communication is an essential part of human beings' daily life, we interact to talk everyday with eachother in different ways for various purposes. Some people think that television ruined our daily communications, whereas others may argue for the opposite. As far as I'm concerned, television has destroyed our interactions and made us disconnect from eachother for several reasons.

First, after the advent of television series and movies, family members started to have less interaction between each other. Before, when there was no T.V, members of the family would gather more often and used to share stories and interact with eachother. For instance, my grandfather once told me about how they used to play table games together before T.V. "Now everybody is busy watching T.V", he said.

Second, youth don't pass time with each other that much anymore. When there was no T.V, youth used to go outside to together a lot to chat about their ambitions and dreams. Nowdays, things have changed a lot, as there are countless T.V shows and movie series which distract the youth from socializing and meeting. Some people may argue that television shows became a need in the lives of some youth.

Third, When there was no television, people were more productive than they are today. In my hometown, people used to gather a lot in order to decide what volountary work they want to do to help those in need. Now, this gathering is not done anymore because many people are busy watching television.

In summary, some people may not agree with me, but from what i have heared and seen, communication and interaction between friends and relatives has been demolished from our society after television. There are various examples of that, starting from fewer family gathering to a larger scale of fewer community gatherings and meetings. This issue will be hopefully solved if we work together to make stronger ties and relationships between all of us.

I'm really interested to know how much in your opinion this essay would get in a scale from 0 to 5 if it was written in the toefl test. Your opinions are important :)