TOEFL ESSAY about the purpose of Television (to entertain)

Television should be used to instruct people rather than to entertain them

There are different opinions regarding the purpose of Television. Although some might think otherwise, I strongly believe that television can be used to entertain them. In the following paragraphs, I will explain the detailed and logical reasons for my opinion.

To begin with, television should be used to entertain people to help them refresh. Contemporary society has made huge leaps in technology, amassing a wealth of information. Such overabundance sources overburden people with different kinds of complicated takes. For this reason, people get stress a lot and they need to solve their stress. Even though there might be other ways to get rid of stress, we cannot deny that television is the most effective and cheapest method to help people get refreshed. According to the research conducted by SS University, people answered that the most priority solution to remove their concerns was watching entertaining programs on TV at home after works. Indeed, watching drama and movies on TV makes people feel comfortable and forget about worries on daily life, with no need for money. If TV only has function of instruction, people would get more stress, which might lead to serious health problems. Therefore, it is safe to say that TV had better use for entertaining people.

On top of that, by watching entertaining programs, people can build up relationship with others. In fact, there are a variety of entertaining programs such as drama, reality shows and this is the primary conversation topic among people. While talking to the episode of drama people can feel intimacy even with unknown people, because entertaining programs does not require any specific knowledge so it is easy to share and keep talking to. For this example, I will refer to my case. I often watched educational program because it delivered useful information and I enjoyed it. However, most of my coworkers liked watching the drama and they shared the story during break time at work. I could not follow the story and I easily felt isolated. I ended up watching the drama instead of educational program and I became closer to my peers. My case typically shows how entertaining program creates a huge impact on people's relationships in society.

To sum up, for these reasons mention above, television is needed to be used to entertain people. This is because it makes people feel refreshed and because people can increase relationship in society.