Television influences badly on children's creativity

tv content may harm children' behaviour

With the rapid development of technology, television has become one of the most indispensable appliances in people's daily life. However, some people, especially British parents, argue that televisions would damage their children's cognitive development. Personally, I think that owning a television at home will do more good than harm for children.

One of the most important reasons for my belief is that television is the most effective tools to inform children of the latest news and scientific development over the world. Television tells us the recent progress of researches in various fields such as information technology, genetic breakthroughs, and so on. These things can stimulate the imagination of children and encourage them to carry out relevant experiments, discover new findings in their study.

Additional reason strengthening my opinion is that programs broadcasted on TV channels enlarge children's knowledge of scope. Programs about nature and geography can inspire children to be more engrossed in exploring the world. Meanwhile, programs about adventures can cultivate children's creativity and the ability to tackle difficulty, programs about science can increase children's interest in science and technology.

However, some British parents argue that televisions have bad influence on children. A few imporper programs on televisions play negative effects in the growth of children. The shots about violence, crimes and pornography contents are making children walk on the criminal road.

To sum up, I believe that television will not harm children's creativity. But in the mean time, the governments should join hands with parents to prohibit the unhealthy contents on TV as well as control the length of time for children to watch TV.